Healey Willan’s Missa Brevis nos. 2 & 13

Our fearless leader gave us our first order of service of the new season (eeeeeeeee!!), which starts September 14th. So that’s coming up pretty soon. It’s mostly music we’ve done before, but we’re adding a couple of new pieces from Willan’s oeuvre – the Kyrie from his Missa Brevis no.2 and the Agnus Dei from no.13. And I’ve been really enjoying learning some new music, especially music as gorgeous as this.

I cannot wait to start singing with the group again!! It’s going to be a bit different now that we have a new soprano, but it’s going to have a lot of challenges in store – especially since the three weeks after our first service, both our fearless leader and out baritone are going to be off singing at a synagogue for the high holy days. Leaving me to both figure out what we’re going to be singing and conduct the whole service by myself, three weeks in a row.

No, why do you ask? I’m not at all nervous about that. . . (hsssst!! I’m totally freaking out! Don’t tell anybody, Dear Internet!)

20110822-033339.jpg

Though I’m also really excited to look at a bit of new three-part music, and to figure out how we’ll do things in three that we normally do in four. I have conducted a service before – this past Maundy Thursday I was the conductor, which was a bit hair-raising (and I also did the week after Easter too – the fearless leader needed a break). I know it’ll go ok, it’s just a little nervous-making.

But to quickly turn to something completely different – I’m doing a mini exercise challenge this week! I’m going to try to go to the gym every day after work. I’m going to spin class tonight, and I’ll swim tomorrow. I haven’t decided exactly what I’m doing the rest of the week, but I’ll probably go swimming twice more and either to another spin class, or a body combat class (which is super-hardcore).

The challenge isn’t starting off in the best way imaginable though. Today my body decided to have the worst PMS. Ever. And I’m hoping that a little nap will help before I go to the gym. I felt so sick that I had to leave work a bit earlier than I’d planned. Luckily it’ll be easy to spread the time I missed over the rest of the week. At the very least, my headache is finally receding.

Though I feel a bit bad for fixating on how terrible I’m feeling – Jack Layton, the leader of the federal NDP has, very suddenly, passed away. He brought idealism back to Canadian politics, and we will not easily replace his leadership. Regardless of your political leanings or ideology, Layton was the only leader in our country who had charisma, optimism, and an ability to cut through the apathy that so dogs our voting population. He will be sorely missed. R.I.P. Jack, I hope you’re in a better place, free of your suffering.

Leave a Reply

