I guess I should subtitle the blog “And don’t forget the knitting!”

Cause yeah. . . this post is going to be about a bunch of the next knitting projects I have in the planning stages. Already. My “To Do” list is kinda scary. I plan years in advance on some things. . .

For Christmas I got Hansi Singh’s Amigurumi Knits which I’ve been lusting after since I heard about it. And with a bunch of people on my present-giving list, I like expanding my pool of potential gifts to make. And who wouldn’t like an octopus, or jackalope, or hermit crab for Christmas? Am I right??

You know I'm totally making that angler fish

And I know how obsessed with me you are, Dear Internet, so I know you’re also following my links (hint: they’re on the right side of the website, underneath the “About Me” page. You’ve found it now? Awesome!! Now go! Internet away!! After reading my deathless prose, of course. Wouldn’t want you to get distracted and forget all about little ol’ me, now would we?). Well, one of my more favourite intertubes discoveries is Mochi Mochi Land – Anna Hrachovec (dear lord I hope I spelled that right. . .) has an amazingly offbeat design sensibility that instantly endeared her to me (as did her free patterns. . .), and the pdf patterns she sells through her website are very well priced. And awesome. She writes patterns very well, so they’re easy to follow (as well as to adapt to your own knitting style, as I’m wont to do). Her first book came out last year, and somehow I only got it a month ago. For shame! Some fan girl I am. But, thanks again to the intertubes, I set that to rights and Knitting Mochimochi arrived at my doorstep to my great delight.

Don't we all need cute moster slippers that are eating our feet??

This is not a book for someone who doesn’t like weird shit. Though, why would you be reading my blog if you’re not into the weird? Anyway, a confused moose, mod muff (for your hands when it’s cold, if you don’t know old-timey lingo), pigs in wigs, and a scooter-squirrel = awesome!! And I have even more possibilities for upcoming x-mas and birthday presents! It’s win-win-win! Also awesome are the instructions and suggestions for how you can design your own knitted monstrosities, which I’ll totally be playing with once I start really feeling fall set in and the knitting bug comes back in full-force.

Aaaaaaannnnnddddd. . . I hope you’ve been following Mochimochi, but if not – there is even more awesome! Ever since Kitting Mochimochi, Anna’s been doing this tiny knits challenge and making the most adorablest awesome little thingies evar. And made a book of them!!!!!! Which I ordered as soon was humanly possible. Guess the heights of my joy when I came home to an unlovely large packing envelope!!!

SQUEEEEE(to the power of infinity)!!!!!

YES!!!!! As soon as I get a new job, I am totally buying out the nearest knitting store’s supply of fingering weight yarn to make as many as these as I can before I succumb to extreme cute. Going through the book, I’ve already decided what my first project out of it will be. Which I’m going to tell you about, Dear Internet, cause that’s what I do šŸ˜‰ You can get your very own copy of Teeny-Tiny Mochimochi at Mochimochiland’s web store or amazon (if you get it from her store, she signs it for you!!). And you should do so, right now.

You done? Ok, moving on. . .

The project I want to start with will highlight my amazing nerdity. One of the patterns in the book is to make a teeny Earth, Neptune, and Moon. So naturally I think, “Hey, all the planets are kinda planety shaped – Infinite adaptability!!” Which naturally led me to the decision to make a weeny solar system mobile! I don’t know if you know The Magic School Bus, the one about the solar system was definitely my favourite. Cause I’m Nerd-squared, apparently.

I’m certainly going to have fun with this one – choosing yarn colours, researching the relative sizes of the planets so I can approximate that in the mobile (did I mention I was a nerd at all?), figuring out the mobile apparatus (again, nerd). This is gonna be sweet! And maybe I’ll be able to part with it. But maybe not. I’d have to really like whoever would be receiving it. . . As in Let-me-have-your-babies-like. . . So pretty much just Nathan Fillion or Benedict Cumberbatch. D’you think they’d be interested?

Any awesome projects on the go, Dear Internet?

_______________________________

Update! Half an hour with the aforementioned books and look what I’ve done!

20110825-110424.jpg

Yup. I used up an entire post-it pad marking up the projects I intend to eventually work on. And I have a bunch of x-mas present, stocking stuffer, and other present ideas! As I said before, I am a total nerd.

Leave a Reply

